The Council governs Nkumba University and is constituted according to the provisions of the National Council for Higher Education and the Nkumba University Charter.

Its responsibilities include determining the mission, objectives, goals, strategies and policies for the progress of the institution. It must also ensure an environment that is conducive to attaining these goals efficiently, effectively, economically and ethically.

In addition, the Council has the responsibility of maintaining and ensuring a financially secure, healthy and viable environment and is accountable for all decisions made at Nkumba University.

The Nkumba University Council is chaired by Hon. Dr. David Byatike Matovu

Below are the council members:


No. Name




1 Dr. Dalton Ssegawa Chairperson
2 Dr. Rebecca M. Nyonyintono Vice Chairperson
3 Prof. W. M. Mande (VC) Ex-Officio
4 H. E Henry Byansi Member
5 H. E Betty Jokudu Member
Mr. Mohammed Kalyango Member
Mr. Ben Kamya - Kintu Member
Lt. Col. Robert Ssekidde  Member
Mr. Eddie Lule Kamya Member
10  Ms. Stella Kambugu Kibirige Member
11  Mr. Robert Odong Oceng  Member
12  Dr. Anrdew Kidda - Makubuya Member
13  Arch. Joel Kateregga Member
14  Ms. Ida Kigonya Member
15  Mr. Florence Namubiru Member
16  Dr. Livingstone Ddungu Member
17  Dr. Joyce Bukirwa Member
18  Assoc. Prof. Andrew P. Yiga Member


The University Council operates through its Rules and Procedures, and these are subject to the University Charter. The Council has committees that enable it to carry out its functions as per the Charter. 

The following are the committees which report to the council: 

Executive Committee
Establishment and Administration
Estates and Works  TCC
University Senate